The Riverby Award List of Nature Books for Young Readers
During his life, John Burroughs' nature essays for children were published in special school editions and caused nature study to blossom in classrooms all over America. The Riverby Award competition for excellent natural history books for young readers, recognizing outstanding natural history books for children that contain perceptive and artistic accounts of direct experiences in the world of nature, was established in 1988 to recognize Burroughs' efforts to awaken interest in young naturalists. Each year, the results of the competition are formally recognized at the John Burroughs Association's award ceremony, held at the American Museum of Natural History in New York. The Association hopes that the list will encourage writers, artists, and publishers to produce books that invite young readers to explore the natural world for themselves.

Download the sortable Excel version of the Riverby Awardees for excellence in natural history books for young readers. here.

The 2012 Riverby Awardees are:
A Leaf Can Be, Laura Purdie Salas, author, and Violeta Dabija, illustrator, Lerner
Publishing Group/Millbrook Press, (2012).

Moonbird, Phillip Hoose, author, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt/FSG, (2012).

Rachael Carson and Her Book That Changed the World, Laurie Lawlor, author, and Laura Beingessner, Illustrator, Holiday House, (2012).

Ocean Sunlight: How Tiny Plants Feed The Seas, Molly Bang and Penny Chisholm,
authors, Molly Bang, illustrator, Scholastic Inc./The Blue Sky Press, (2012).

Wild Horse Scientists, Kay Frydenborg, author, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, (2012).


Website designed by Lisa Breslof and Jay Holmes
Copyright 2008 John Burroughs Association, All Rights Reserved
Content Specialist: Lisa Breslof
Webmaster: Jay Holmes